top of page

Stay strong in determinism

Determinism




 
"Some birds aren't meant to be caged, that's all. Their feathers are just too bright."


The Shawshank Redemption


"Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies." I think that's the punch line of the movie. Andy, the hero of the story, is accused of murder and sent to prison for unjustified reasons. However, this did not discourage him from living. Andy remained calm, rational, well-mannered. His clothes were still decent, his fingers were still clean. Even his face still glowed with hope, and there was no dull look on it as if he were not in prison but on vacation

I believe we all have deterministic lives, everything that occurs in my life is destiny, sometimes I cannot change what happens to me, but what I can change is my attitude towards them. Life is short, it is a day no matter you are happy or not. Why not just stay strong and positive? What experience could be worse than Andy's?

Hope and freedom are emphasized throughout the film. With hope, there is a goal and pursuit. Just like the famous line in the movie: Some birds aren't meant to be caged, that's all. Their feathers are just too bright. For decades, people have to bear, when the vast majority of prisoners have long been numb, slowly lost the desire for freedom, but in Andy's inner world has been adhering to his original belief, that is, the yearning for a free life. In such a big Shawshank, there was only one Andy who changed the world of Shawshank in a long time

The Shawshank Redemption shapes me to have a positive attitude towards life, which is the most valuable spirit in my opinion. It also tells me to value those intangible treasures like hope, freedom, and friendship. These are precious spirits everyone should have throughout their lifetime.



 

bottom of page